MRB Website Header

icon fb icon twitter icon newsletter

.

The Dark Tower 'The Dark Tower': Everything You Need to Know About the Stephen King Fantasy Epic

Rolling Stone, Noel Murray

 

Back in the long-ago age of 1978, The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction published a novella called The Gunslinger by Stephen King, who at the time had just rocketed from obscurity to the best-seller list with his books Carrie, 'Salem's Lot, The Shining and The Stand. Already regarded as a master of horror fiction, the author proved just as adept at epic fantasy, telling a story about an archetypal western hero named Roland, on a quest through a mystical desert on a ravaged parallel Earth, in pursuit of a wily "Man in Black" and a mythical "Dark Tower."

 

Read more here.

Get SA GrowingBooks: Insight into the economy

Financial Mail, Prakash Naidoo

 

Unemployment, poverty and a volatile rand suggest that South Africans have been poorly served by the economic choices of our government.

In his book Get South Africa Growing, Brian Kantor, one of SA’s pre-eminent economists, advances spirited arguments for freer markets and less government intervention and regulation of the economy.

 

Read more here.

Original Ginny moon

In Benjamin Ludwig’s new novel, Ginny Moon’s “Forever Family” do their best to help her adjust, but they aren’t privy to the secrets from her past that make it impossible to let go.

The Star, Tara Henley

 

In Ginny Moon, we find the titular character living in the “Blue House” with her “Forever Mom,” Maura Moon, and “Forever Dad,” Brian Moon. Having bounced from one foster care placement to another, Ginny has finally landed at this, her “Forever Home.” She listens to the music of idol Michael Jackson, eats precisely nine grapes at a time, watches movies, follows rules religiously — and pines for the Baby Doll she had at age nine, when she was forcibly removed from the care of her abusive, drug-addicted mother, Gloria.

 

Read more here.

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye

The fifth in the Millennium series that began with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, the global publishing phenomenon.

 

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo lives on.

 

Lisbeth Salander is an unstoppable force:

 

Read more...

Bad SoldierWar-torn writer: ex-SAS soldier turned author Chris Ryan on his new book

The Irish News, Hannah Stephenson

 

Geordie ex-SAS soldier Chris Ryan has spent much of his career in the thick of war zones and life-threatening situations – but these days, he'd much rather be writing fiction.

Ryan was famously the only member of the eight-man SAS mission Bravo Two Zero to escape from Iraq in 1991 – four of his patrol were captured, three died – as described in his bestseller The One That Got Away, which was adapted for screen.

He has since written 22 novels, three non-fiction books and has now moved to Florida.

 

Read more here.

The ChemistStephenie Meyer brews a tasty thriller with 'The Chemist'

USA Today, Charles Finch


Stephenie Meyer — world-conquering begetter of Twilight, creator of vampires who glitter in the sunlight — has written an engrossing new novel called The Chemist, which would seem at first glance to be a radical departure for her.It’s a thriller for adults in the vein of David Baldacci or Lee Child, pitting a scientist against the shadowy government figures who once employed her, then tried to eliminate her.
There are no werewolves around.


Read more here.

Silent CornerThe Silent Corner: a Novel of Suspense

Daily Herald, Jeff Ayers

 

FBI agent Jane Hawk must go rogue and stay completely off the grid if she's going to uncover the truth behind a personal tragedy in Dean Koontz's latest gripping thriller, The Silent Corner.

 

Hawk had a wonderful job and a loving husband. One day he leaves her a cryptic message and takes his own life. In her grief, she takes a leave of absence from the FBI and tries to figure out why he killed himself. She soon uncovers what she sees as a vast conspiracy of dozens of people who seemingly had no reason to commit suicide while leaving behind bizarre messages supposedly justifying the deed.

 

Read more here.

Good DaughterThe Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter review: The best suspense novel of the year

Express, James Murray

 

He never trusts lying, bullying cops, feels magnetically drawn to underdogs and bends over backwards to justify appalling acts of violence perpetrated by those who hire him.

However, his idealism is put to the ultimate test when one of the twisted souls he saved from jail visits his home to say he has no intention of paying long-awaited legal bills. Bestselling author Karin Slaughter shows how the violent at heart behave when events don’t go to plan.

 

Read more here.

the Tigers Prey

A cyclone of nonstop action-adventure with enough swordplay and bodice-ripping to recall the Errol Flynn swashbuckler pirate movies of old.

Kirkus Reviews

 

Tom is persona non grata in England, suspected of murdering his brother Black Billy, but he's done well in exile. Currently he’s trading along the East African coast. It’s perilous, though. Tom must avoid the East India Company, which enforces its monopoly with its own military. There are also dread pirates. In fact, a recent confrontation cost Tom his ship. Now he’s retreated to Cape Town to outfit a new ship, Kestrel. With his brother Dorian and their wives aboard, the Kestrel’s fleet enough to slip into the East India Company’s rich territory. All goes well until a monsoon tosses Tom’s crew into the clutches of a vicious jungle queen.

 

Read more here.

Light we lostLove Means Growing Up: The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

Chigago Now, Kelly Konrad

 

Jill Santopolo's The Light We Lost is an easy-to-get-lost-in read, meant to pull at your heartstrings and have you comparing it to Me Before You.

The book's protagonist and sole narrator, Lucy Carter, begins the story as a college student in New York City and finishes the tale a married mother of three, with a successful career as a television producer. In the end, I think we are supposed to weep for her. A little? A Lot? Depends on the reader and your take on romantic relationships of all kinds — in this case, those that lead to a life together.

 

Read more here.

Love StoryMegabestseller Kingsbury on crafting “life-changing fiction” that “connects with the heart”

Publisher's Weekly

 

While love, forgiveness, loss, redemption, and, of course, God are dominant themes in her writing, Karen Kingsbury’s work can’t be pigeonholed as Christian fiction. “It is important to me that people not of the Christian faith read my work,” Kingsbury says. “When I hear that more than half of my readers are not Christian believers, I smile. It tells me that I’m writing strong fiction, stories that connect with the heart. That’s my goal.”

 

Read more here.

Man BookerMan Booker prize 2017 longlist – in pictures

The Guardian

 

Find out more about the 13 novels in contention this year for the most prestigious prize in the British books world.

 

Read more here.

the lesser bohemian The Lesser Bohemians by Eimear McBride review – a brilliant evocation of sex and intimacy

The Guardian,

 

Reading the opening pages of The Lesser Bohemians, I wondered if I might still be in the world of A Girl is a Half-formed Thing. Here was a diffident 18-year-old Irish girl talking, writing or thinking in Eimear McBride’s characteristic broken sentences, gliding between the demotic and the lyrical. “Daub my soul with a good few pints til my mouth swings wide with unutterable shite. Laughing lots too, like it’s true. Worldening maybe, I think. I hope.” I felt anxious that the voice that had seemed to be created for the heroine of A Girl had suddenly become the voice of an apparently different character, and that we were expected to accept this and read these sentences as though for the first time.

 

Read more here.

9780008184902The Book Smugglers of Timbuktu by Charlie English review – how precious manuscripts were saved

The Guardian

 

In April 2012, the jihadist army of the Saharan branch of al-Qaida drove a fleet of their armoured pick-up trucks into the centre of the ancient caravan town of Timbuktu in northern Mali. As black flags were hoisted atop the minarets, and as trapped and terrified government conscripts scrambled out of their uniforms, the jihadists began imposing their own puritanical interpretation of sharia law. Music was forbidden, modest clothing was forced on the women, stoning was imposed as a punishment for adultery and a war declared on “unIslamic superstition”.

Read more here.

To the Bright Edge of the WorldThis follow-up to The Snow Child explores the boundary between the human and natural world with compelling results

The Guardian, Geraldine Brooks

 

Eowyn Ivey is a deft craftswoman, attentive to the shape and heft of her sentences. Like the couple in her first novel, The Snow Child, who build an icy model of a little girl that magically transforms into a living child, Ivey fashions characters who come to warm and vivid life against her frozen Alaskan landscapes.

Her second novel, To the Bright Edge of the World, is again set in Alaska but in 1885, a few decades earlier than the previous book: this is an era of explorers and prospectors rather than hardscrabble homesteaders. Through journal entries, military reports, letters and documents, Ivey lays down her story in shards, requiring the reader to piece together the final narrative.

 

Read more here.

Rules Do Not Apply The Rules Do Not Apply

It's a Book thing Blog, Kelly Ansara

 

There are a bucket load of epic autobiographies that aren’t really seen as ‘epic’. A trend started at the pen of Lena Dunham, Tina Fey and Mindy Kaling – women we see, women we love. If you haven’t heard of Ariel Levy, and don’t worry I’ll give you this one because I hadn’t either, you will now. For this woman will turn your heart to soft gooey custard and then man-it-up in mere pages.


Read more...

Rupi Kaur BookRupi Kaur reveals the cover and title of her new book

 

the sun and her flowers is the second collection of poetry and illustrations by Kaur, whose first collection, milk and honey, was a #1 New York Times and international bestseller and has sold nearly 2 million copies worldwide.

 

Read more...