icon fb1 icon twitter1icon instagram1

Lauren Pailing is born in the sixties, and a child of the seventies. She is thirteen years

old the first time she dies.

Lauren Pailing is a teenager in the eighties, becomes a Londoner in the nineties. And each time she dies, new lives begin for the people who loved her – while Lauren enters a brand new life, too. But in each of Lauren’s lives, a man called Peter Stanning disappears. And, in each of her lives, Lauren sets out to find him. And so it is that every ending is also a beginning. And so it is that, with each new beginning, Peter Stanning inches closer to finally being found…

Perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson and Maggie O’Farrell, The First Time Lauren Pailing Died is a book about loss, grief – and how, despite it not always feeling that way, every ending marks the start of something new.

 

 About Alyson Rudd


Alyson Rudd was born in Liverpool, raised in West Lancashire and educated at the London School of Economics. She is a sports journalist at The Times and lives in South West London. She has written two works of non-fiction. The First Time Lauren Pailing Died is her first novel.

 

Reviews


A stylish time-slip story à la Sliding Doors. Guardian (hottest-tipped debuts of 2019)

Stylish, alluring, utterly gripping. An intricate, elegantly written time-slip tale that keeps you guessing until the last page. Lisa O’Kelly, Observer

Stunning, moving and very clever. Mark Lawson

Beautiful, extremely moving and expertly done, with a lightness of touch that belies the complexity behind the plotting. I loved it (and I cried several times!). Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange

A wonderful novel. The story weaves in and out of the timelines effortlessly…brilliantly paced. Katie S, Netgalley

A very clever book and one which I enjoyed very much. Debra F, Netgalley

 

Buy Online:

 Balakudu Protea  Takealot  EB logo 
 reseller loot  RW.JPG  Graffiti Logo.PNG  Raru