Home / Reviews / Fiction / BookTok / ‘That Self-Same Metal’ by B. Williams

‘That Self-Same Metal’ by B. Williams

That Self-Same Metal

Brittany N. Williams


Available At:


Swashbuckling and romantic, with a heroine unlike any other. A sweeping YA fantasy trilogy debut, placing black queerness at the centre of Shakespearean London. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Leigh Bardugo and Ayana Gray.


Sixteen-year-old Joan Sands is a gifted craftswoman who creates and upkeeps the stage blades for William Shakespeare’s acting company, The King’s Men. Joan’s skill with her blades comes from a magical ability to control metal – an ability gifted by her Head Orisha, Ogun.

Because her whole family is Orisha-blessed, the Sands family have always kept tabs on the Fae presence in London. Usually that doesn’t involve much except noting the faint glow around a Fae’s body as they try to blend in with London society, but lately, there has been an uptick in brutal Fae attacks.

After Joan wounds a powerful Fae and saves the son of a cruel Lord, she is drawn into political intrigue in the human and Fae worlds.


About the Author

Brittany N. Williams is a classically-trained actress who studied Musical Theatre at Howard University and Shakespearean performance at the Royal Central School of Speech & Drama in London. Previously she’s been a principal vocalist at Hong Kong Disneyland, a theatre professor at Coppin State University, and made appearances in Queen Sugar and Leverage: Redemption.


Book Details:

Published: January 2024
ISBN: 9780571381623
Format: Paperback
Page extent: 352 pages

Share This Article

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest

Related Reviews