Home / Reviews / Fiction / New Fiction / Must Read Books for June 2024

Must Read Books for June 2024

From crime and suspenseful thrillers to heartfelt book club picks, check out our selection of the Must Read Books for June 2024.


Must Read Books for June 2024
Rachel McLean

Meet DCI Lesley Clarke. She’s a straight-talking city copper who doesn’t suffer fools gladly.

After being injured in a bomb attack, Lesley must undertake a period of respite in the calm of rural Dorset. But things don’t stay calm for long. Before she’s even started her new job, Lesley is dragged into investigating a murder at one of England’s most iconic landmarks, the imposing Corfe Castle.

Lesley must hit the ground running. How will she navigate the politics of a smaller force where she’s a bigger, and less welcome, fish? Can she get along with her new partner DS Dennis Frampton and most importantly, can she solve the murder before the killer strikes again?The Corfe Castle Murders is a brilliant, character-driven mystery perfect for fans of Elly Griffiths and Ann Cleeves.

Kelly Rimmer

From the bestselling author of The Warsaw Orphan, this emotionally compelling novel is inspired by real-life female WWII agents including Violette Szabo and Diana Rowden, whose incredible stories have never before been brought to readers.


Twenty-five years after the end of the year, ageing British SOE operative Noah Ainsworth is reflecting on the secret agent who saved his life when a mission went wrong during his perilous, exhilarating years in occupied France. He never knew her real name, nor whether she survived war.

His daughter Charlotte begins a search for answers. What follows is the story of Fleur and Chloe, two otherwise ordinary women who in 1943 are called up by the SOE for deployment in Frances. Taking enormous risks with very little information or resources, the women have no idea they’re at the mercy of a double agent within their ranks who’s causing chaos.

As Charlotte’s search for answers continues, new suspicions are raised about the identity of the double agent, with unsettling clues pointing to her father.

Eve Kellman

Are you on a date that doesn’t feel right?
Can’t shake that creepy guy at the bar?
Worried you’re being followed home?


After one too many terrifying encounters, Millie Masters sets up a hotline for women who feel unsafe walking home alone at night: Message M. But very quickly she realises that there’s much more to be done to help the women who call in. Because the men just do it again the next night, and the next, and the next…

And when her own sister is assaulted on a night out, the temptation to take the law into her own hands becomes too much to resist. Because M can also stand for murder…


A deliciously dark, hilariously twisted serial killer thriller with a villainous female lead. Perfect for fans of Bella Mackie’s How to Kill Your Family, Oyinkan Braithwaite’s My Sister, the Serial Killer, or anyone who enjoyed watching You.

Daisy Wood

A royal palace. A closed book. A betrayal that will echo through generations…


Windsor, 1940: Secretly tasked with foiling a suspected plot, Sophie Klein is placed in the Royal Library at Windsor castle, where the princesses reside. But when she learns that Windsor is compromised, Sophie must sacrifice everything she knows to save the future queen of England…


Philadelphia, Present day: Looking through her grandmother’s papers, Lacey Jones comes across a mysterious letter stamped with the Windsor Castle crest. But how did it come to be in her family’s possession?


And so begins a journey that will take Lacey deep into the heart of the oldest inhabited castle in the world, and change her life forever. . .

Lisa Jackson

The deadliest killer is back…

There are some killers so savage, so twisted, that they leave a mark not just on their victims, but on everyone who crosses their path.


Years ago Detective Bentz left one such monster to die in the swamp. The world was a better place without Father John, a serial killer who posed as a priest. But now a new victim has surfaced, her body staged in deliberate, unmistakable detail.


As the bodies start piling up, Bentz soon grows convinced that Father John isn’t just back. He’s circling closer, targeting those Bentz loves most.


And this time, he won’t be stopped until the last sinner has paid the ultimate price… A return to fan-favourite characters Detectives Bentz and Montoya, The Last Sinner is a pulse-pounding psychological suspense thriller perfect for fans of Karen Rose and Lisa Gardner.

Taj McCoy

Maggie is a lawyer looking for love. Garrett is a sports writer waiting for his college best friend to notice him, but she’s written him off because of a pact they made as teenagers. When Maggie starts online dating to find a date for two weddings, Garrett throws salt in everyone’s game. At every turn, he points out the red flags and encourages Maggie to keep looking until she believes she’s found the one.


Things come to a head when Maggie demands that Garrett be happy for her, because he can’t. Not when he’s not with her-all of his attempts at a relationship crash and burn because he doesn’t feel for them what he does for Maggie. When he blurts out his feelings, Maggie’s world is turned upside down. She never knew he held onto feelings from their “almost hookup” more than fifteen years ago. Now she must choose between the perfect guy and a friendship that is the foundation for everything she’s ever wanted.

Share This Article

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest

Related Reviews