icon fb1 icon twitter1icon instagram1

Everyone has scars. Some are just easier to see ...

16-year-old Ava Lee is heading back to school one year after a house fire left her severely disfigured. She’s used to the names, the stares, the discomfort, but there’s one name she hates most of all: Survivor. What do you call someone who didn’t mean to survive? Who sometimes wishes she hadn’t?

When she meets a fellow survivor named Piper at therapy, Ava begins to feel like she’s not facing the nightmare alone. Piper helps Ava reclaim the pieces of Ava Before the Fire, a normal girl who kissed boys and sang on stage. But Piper is fighting her own battle, and when Ava almost loses her best friend, she must decide if the new normal she’s chasing has more to do with the girl in the mirror — or the people by her side. 

The beautiful, life-affirming debut from Erin Stewart that's being called the YA answer to Wonder. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Nicola Yoon and John Green.

 

About Erin Stewart


Erin Stewart is the author of SCARS LIKE WINGS, her debut novel. Erin is a graduate of the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern and a BYU undergraduate who works as a freelance writer and editor, as well as a weekly columnist in Salt Lake City. Erin lives in Utah with her husband and three children. She is represented by the amazing Brianne Johnson of Writers House.

 

Reviews


A heartfelt and unflinching look at the reality of being a burn survivor and at the scars we all carry. This book is for everyone, burned or not, who has ever searched for a light in the darkness. Stephanie Nielson

A tender, frank coming-of-age story about the pain and power of survival. Kirkus Reviews

A sensitively handled story filled with relatable, three-dimensional characters.... The first-person narrative movingly expresses Ava's lingering sorrow and changing outlook as she navigates her way toward a new form of normalcy. Publishers Weekly

Thought-provoking . . . will push readers to think deeply about empathy, hope, and resilience in the face of heartbreak. School Library Journal

What Wonder (2012) did for middle-school kids, Stewart's debut does for high schoolers.... Readers will find this emotional, heart-wrenching novel endearing and profound. Booklist

 

Buy Online:

 Balakudu Protea  Takealot  EB logo 
 reseller loot  RW.JPG  Graffiti Logo.PNG  Raru